

KANE COUNTY COMPREHENSIVE ROAD IMPROVEMENT PLAN (CRIP)

2022 IMPACT FEE PROGRAM UPDATE

IMPACT FEE ADVISORY COMMITTEE (IFAC) - KICK-OFF MEETING

December 17, 2020 // 3:00PM // Virtual Meeting Hosted by Kane County Division of Transportation (Zoom Link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86795665301?pwd=cXUyaEVSVmViOTViRUJua3ovbWJSUT09)

Meeting ID: 867 9566 5301 Passcode: 676877

1

Call to Order // Drew Frasz

2

Roll Call // Jackie Forbes

3

Public Comment

4

Approval of Minutes of January 31, 2017

4

Reports

A Consultant Report on Impact Fee Ordinance Update

- Introductions
 - New IFAC members are invited to share a little about their interest in the program update.
 (Jackie will call on people)
 - Continuing members are invited to share lessons learned or advice on participation in the program update.
 - KDOT staff
- Program History // Tom Rickert
- Update Overview & Schedule // Kimley-Horn
- IFAC Role & Responsibilities // Kimley Horn
- Next Steps // Kimley-Horn
 - Online Mapping Tool Key Assumptions



Old Business / Announcements



Next Meeting



Adjournment

TBD

For more information regarding the 2022 Impact Fee Program Update, please contact Jackie Forbes, KDOT Chief of Planning and Programming via email at forbesjackie@co.kane.il.us or by phone at (630) 444-3142.

One tap mobile

+13126266799,,86795665301# US (Chicago)

1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago) **Meeting ID:** 867 9566 5301

Passcode: 676877



Kane County Road Improvement Impact Fee Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes January 31, 2017

Members in Attendance:

Chairman Drew Frasz, Board Member, Kane County
Bill Lenert, Board Member, Kane County
Dave Anderson, President, Village of Elburn
Dale Berman, President, Village of North Aurora
Ed Ritter, President, Village of Carpentersville
Stephen Pickett, President, Village of Sleepy Hollow
Jeff Schielke, Mayor, City of Batavia
Annette Kalevik, Realtors Association of Fox Valley
Rich Guerard, Wyndam Deerpoint Homes
Tom Rickert, Deputy Director, Kane County DOT (ALT)
Heidi Files, Deputy Chief of Staff, Kane County DOT (ALT)

Others Present:

Jennifer Becker, Chief of Planning and Programming, Kane County DOT Jerry Dickson, Impact Fee Coordinator, Kane County DOT Becky Gillam, Kane County Board member Phil Lewis, Kane County Board member Tony Lucenko, Elgin Development Group Jeff Frantz, CH2M Athreya Sreenivasan, CH2M

I. Call to Order

Drew Frasz (Chair) called the Kane County Road Improvement Impact Fee Advisory Committee (IFAC) meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. The meeting was held in the Auditorium of the Kane County Government Center

II. Roll Call

A quorum was established with 10 voting members present (including 2 alternates).

III. Public Comment - No Public Comment

IV. Approval of Minutes of November 10, 2016

The minutes were approved on a motion by Bill Lenert, seconded by Annette Kalevik carried by a voice vote of 8-0.

V. Public Comment

Chairman Fraz recognized Tony Lucenko of the Elgin Development Group (EDG). Mr. Lucenko stated that he represents the EDG on various committees, including a subcommittee focused on property taxes and the implications on economic development. He stated that the Dundee Township Assessor has increased assessments 134% in the last 3 years, and that has had a detrimental effect on development in the Dundee Township portion of Elgin. He stated that there is a perception in the development community that increases in taxes and the collection of Kane County Impact Fees reduces competitiveness with adjacent counties. He understands the correlation between infrastructure and economic development. He suggested that the

impact fees be lowered even more than the 10% across the board reduction proposed in the CRIP ordinance under consideration. He submitted a written statement to the members.

VI. Reports

a. Consultant Report on Impact Fee Update

Mr. Frantz reported on the process to date. He outlined the process leading up to the January 4, 2017 public hearing. The draft ordinance, fee schedule and CRIP document were made available for public review and comments were welcomed. He indicated that the public comment period extended from November 11, 2016- January 13, 2017. During the public comment period only one comment was received. Mr. Lucenko submitted comments similar to those expressed at the meeting and were explained again during the presentation.

Mr. Frantz' presentation continued with additional background on the changes contemplated in the ordinance and highlighted one additional change recommended by staff in response to the comment received. This change addresses using the lowest fee for older developments, so as not to place an unfair advantage on these developments compared to newly platted developments which are subject to the new, lower fee schedule.

Mr. Frantz concluded his presentation with an outline of the next steps leading to completion. The action item requested today would be to Approve, Modify or Reject the CRIP as presented. Mr. Guerard made a motion, seconded by Mr. Pickett to recommend approval of the CRIP as presented at the public hearing including the modifications presented at the meeting this morning. Discussion followed. Mr. Fraz asked if any questions.

Mr. Rickert reviewed staff's actions over the past few months including the public hearing and public comment period. Mr. Rickert stated that staff attempted to address comments received by incorporating the Flex Industrial land use and associated modified fee schedule, the lowering of overall fees by an average of 10% and ordinance language modifications which allow greater flexibility on the part of developers in choosing a preferred assessment method. He stated that Individual Assessments and payment agreement remain in place. Individual Assessments almost always result in reduced assessments. There are now discounts associated with Transit Supportive Corridors. Mr. Fraz stated that he has had several constituents tell him that their experiences with Impact Fee staff and consultants have resulted in fair assessments.

Mr. Fraz then said that he appreciates Mr. Lucenko's comments related to cross county competitiveness and it was his opinion that it wasn't a big issue when he looked into it. Mr. Fraz then asked Ms. Gillam, his colleague on the Kane County Board if she felt that Kane County's portion of Algonquin Commons was at an unfair advantage when constructed. She said not to her knowledge.

Mr. Schielke then added a comment about the anticipated project on the Fermi property and the potential for spin off economic development in the area located next to the Kane-DuPage border. He also stated that he hasn't seen this type of development activity in Kane County since 2006.

Mr. Rickert then completed the discussion with final explanations of the staff recommendations. The recommendation will then go on to County Board.

Upon a call by Mr. Fraz the motion was approved unanimously with a voice vote of 9-0.

Mr. Fraz then thanked all members of the IFAC for their contribution to the process and their time working on the update for the last 15 months.

VII. Old Business/Announcements – None Presented

VIII. Next Meeting – TBD

VIII. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned on a motion by Mr. Lenert, seconded by Mr. Schielke – carried by a voice vote of 9-0 at 9:05 am.